RSS

Schwarzenegger, Flip-Flopping Is Getting A Bad Rap

13 Jul

Taken from a conversation this morning on “This Week with George Stephanopoulos”, in which California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger discussed the recent movement towards a “centrist view” of the Democratic Presidental nominee Sen. Barack Obama, D-Ill., and the hopes that the Republican nominee Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., would do the same.

Aronld Schwarzenegger stated, “In politics out there, they always say, ‘Well, now, I don’t know anymore what he really stands for.  He has just changed his mind…'”

Stephanopoulos responded, “Flip-flopper,”

Schwarzenegger ,”‘…and he’s flip-flopping’ and all those kinds of things,” the Republican governor continued. “Let me tell you something.  Flip-flopping is getting a bad rap, because I think it is great.  Someone has made a mistake.  I mean, someone has, for 20 or 30 years, been in the wrong place with his idea and with his ideology and says, ‘You know something?  I changed my mind.  I am now for this.’ As long as he’s honest or she’s honest, I think that is a wonderful thing.  You can change your mind…”

“I have changed my mind on things and there is nothing wrong with it,” Schwarzenegger continued. “But I’d just say to the people, I’d say, ‘Look, I once felt this way.  Now I think this way,’ end of story.

 Yet another reason I think Schwarzenegger makes such a great “politician”, he just gets it, and has the wherewithal to state it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2008 in Opinion, Political

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Schwarzenegger, Flip-Flopping Is Getting A Bad Rap

  1. mxsive

    July 15, 2008 at 10:41 PM

    Wow… Of course it takes Arnold to say the obvious. Yes if you want to call it flip flopping then fine call it that. What is the problem with changing your mind? I do it. If I get more information on a subject or learn something new. It can apply to anything. Think of it like a stock broker. If you did not buy and sell, just stick with the same stock… OK so that broker would be gone in a second.

    Pandering to the audience and changing with every speech is bad, however making an informed change or adjusting to the incoming situation is good.

     
  2. JD

    July 16, 2008 at 6:56 PM

    It makes sense that someone could change their opinion solely based on becoming “more informed”, but these are politicians we’re talking about. You cannot separate ideology and agenda when talking about politicians. Having said that, I don’t have any positive comments to say about the contorted political press coverage either.

     

Leave a Reply

 
