RSS

Yahoo had an online music store?

26 Jul

And the saga continues; DRM still sucks. Is anyone surprised?

Earlier this year Microsoft announced that its online music store, MSN Music, would be closing up shop, and although Microsoft has decided to keep the DRM authorization servers up and running through 2011, it shows us once again just how vulnerable and expendable DRM makes us as customers.

Yahoo! Music Store

Yahoo! Music Store

Continuing this bad DRM dream, Yahoo Music announced it will soon be going dark, and will be taking the keys with it. Yahoo e-mailed its Yahoo! Music Store customers, telling them it will be closing for good—and the company will take its DRM license key servers offline on September 30, 2008. Sure, it’s bad news and yet another example of the sheer lobotomized brain-deadness that has characterized music DRM.

My reaction to this? Stop buying music for gods sake! Until the RIAA releases it’s death grip on downloadable music the only alternatives I can stomach are online subscription services, such as Microsoft’s Zune Marketplace. The rediculous fact is that I have over 2000 songs downloaded through iTunes, that are “stuck” on my computer as a result of DRM, and are unplayable in reality, because I choose to use a Zune as my PMP. This is unacceptable!

DRM continues to get in the way of what I want to do with music that I have purchased, and unfortunately DRM has now ensured that I will not be purchasing any music in the future until DRM is dead and I can listen to music that I legally purchase on ANY PMP that I choose.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2008 in Computing, Opinion

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Yahoo had an online music store?

  1. Joel

    July 27, 2008 at 8:38 PM

    Call me old-fashioned, but I still buy my music from Amoeba Music just down the street. Luckily, DRM is mainly for electronic distribution, so that keeps me from dealing with these issues. I know that music distribution is headed toward electronic only, but I am going to enjoy these times while they last.

     
  2. Christopher

    July 27, 2008 at 10:25 PM

    That used to be an option for me as well…until I realized that I have almost 450 CD’s that I’ve listened to so much…that I no longer have any interest in EVER hearing them again!

    That’s why the subscription services make so much sense to me. I can download an entire collection, listen until my ears bleed, and then toss it away when it no longer appeals and NOT have to worry about a personal investment being tossed away as well.

     
  3. Tom

    July 28, 2008 at 9:11 PM

    I’m glad that the music system is working out for you so well. I’ve found myself using online radio services like Pandora, LastFM, and Musicovery a lot more lately. I’m still in control of what music I want to hear and I’m introduced to artists that I would not have otherwise heard.

    I personally don’t get bored of my CD’s but then again I only have a couple hundred. When I do buy online, I only buy the songs I like rather than whole albums. But I still don’t spend as much as you do on music with your fancy player and a monthly subscription.

    I guess it just depends on what you’re after. Some people really like the feeling of owning a CD. It’s tangible. It’s like owning LPs. You might listen to them a lot at first but it’s a collection thing for many. Some people have hundreds of gigabytes of photos that will likely never be viewed much. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
