RSS

New Official Wallpapers for Windows Phone via Levi Freeman

22 May

Via Levi Freeman

This is the short account of the story behind how my photographs ended up on Windows Phone. It explains the beginnings, meetings and the joy of shooting with my camera knowing full well that millions of people will perhaps set them as their own lock screen wallpaper. As well as the wallpapers themselves.

I am a Graphic Designer, learning everyday, experimenting all the time. I studied at the University of the Arts London at the London College of Communication. I always loved taking pictures, it was something about the beauty of the still image and the detail that you miss when always on the move. We were encouraged at LCC to quite frequently take photographs of patterns, typography or use of colour out in the wild; that we should print and cut them out to stick them in a notebook or some sort. I took pictures of much more than that. I remember being teased by my good friend and fellow Graphic Designer Ali Freeman (no relation but she cracks the brother from another mother joke when ever we meet) that I always took macro close up shots. Those type of shots intrigued me, like looking up at the skies at night and marvelling the stars but instead looking down at what’s around you. I would be fascinated by the detail of pencil nibs, sand grains on a beach and the petals of a flower – they certainly made for good photographs.

I decided to use a one of my images on my phone as a lock screen wallpaper. My girlfriend took a liking to it and she asked to have it on her phone. She now has a rose as her lock screen wallpaper…till this day! I thought to myself “if she likes it, others may too.” So I selected some existing photos, tested them on my phone and then released them on my blog. The post is still there as well as the images…and that rose.

It transpired that not only did user’s like them, Microsoft themselves liked them so much they contacted me. The fanboy inside me almost got a heart attack, I was in disbelief. I was contacted via email by Albert Shum, the Windows Phone Design Studio General Manager at Microsoft who explained that he “really enjoy” my work, “especially the recent wallpapers” that I made for people with Windows Phones.

Conversations between me and the Windows Phone Design team developed; I was in contact frequently with Nancy Xu, the Windows Phone Design Program Manager. Through a conference call and many emails and attachments over the course of a year, my collaboration resulted in a series of lock screen wallpapers. The result of which is right here for you to download.

Use your phone (search > tap the eye for Bing Vision > point and tap the link that appears, then save to phone phone and set as wallpaper) to scan the tags or click the images below to directly download.

wp1wp2wp3wp4wp5wp6wp7wp8

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
